Free Initial Consultation, Call (719) 473-9099

Home » DUI

DUI Lawyer in Colorado Springs

Get Assistance from a DUI Defense Attorney

To decrease the rate of alcohol-related accidents, Colorado has numerous enforcement programs performed by police agencies, such as the Heat is On campaign, which is designed to catch drunk drivers in massive groups. There are two levels of alcohol-related driving offenses, and both are determined by a driver’s blood alcohol concentration. A DWAI is driving while ability is impaired by alcohol or drugs, and is the lesser of the two alcohol offenses. A person’s BAC must be between 0.05% and 0.07% to qualify as DWAI, and they may face penalties and fines for such behavior. A DUI is the more serious offense, and may result in a jail sentence and suspended license. With harsh DUI penalties, it may be beneficial for you to contact a criminal defense attorneyat Anderson & Carnahan, Attorneys at Law, if you have been accused of driving under the influence.

DUI Offenses and Laws in Colorado

If a person is charged with a DUI for the first time, they may be facing a myriad of penalties, including license suspension for up to a year, fines anywhere from $300 to $1,000, five days to one year in jail, 48-96 hours of community service, and alcohol education classes for three to nine months. Penalties increase for repeated offenses; in serious cases, an ignition interlock device may be installed on a person’s car. This means that a person’s vehicle will not start if the device detects any amount of alcohol in his or her system. When a person operates a motor vehicle in Colorado, they are automatically expressing consent, or granting permission to be given a chemical test via blood, breath, or urine to measure blood alcohol content. If a driver refuses to take a chemical test, their license may revoked for up to one year. Drivers found to be intoxicated or in possession of alcohol and not of legal drinking age will automatically have their license suspended.

Protecting Your Driver’s License

When you are charged with driving under the influence, your driver’s license—along with your freedom and a myriad of other privileges—is at stake. If you do not hire an experienced DUI attorney, your license may be temporarily suspended or permanently revoked. After a DUI arrest, you have seven days to schedule a DMV hearing to fight to maintain your driver’s license. Hearings that are not scheduled within the seven day time period may result in your license being automatically suspended.

The purpose of the hearing is to determine if the police had legal cause to stop and arrest you, as well as decide whether your chemical test results are grounds to suspend your license. Since DMV hearings are considered civil actions, an attorney will not be appointed for you. If you wish to save your license, it may be in your best interest to hire an experienced DUI lawyer. We have the ability to challenge the grounds of your sobriety test, and discover any errors in the arresting offer’s statement and report. Our attorneys may also request that your chemical samples be retested for errors and labeling discrepancies.

DUI Representation at Anderson & Carnahan, Attorneys at Law

Do not jeopardize your future by hiring an inexperienced DUI attorney. Our attorneys at Anderson & Carnahan, Attorneys at Law have been representing clients with DUI charges for over three decades, and we strive to keep our clients out of jail and on the road. To learn more about DUIs, and how our lawyers may be able to help you with your DUI case, please contact our office as soon as possible.